TL;DR
CMS finalized its 2027 Medicare home health payment rule, estimating aggregate payments to home health agencies will rise 2.4%, or $415 million, from 2026. The rule also includes a temporary 3% adjustment to the standardized payment rate and expands CMS’s authority to revoke or deny provider enrollment over noncompliance.
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services finalized its 2027 Medicare home health payment rule Wednesday, estimating that aggregate payments to home health agencies will increase 2.4%, or about $415 million, compared with 2026. The rule also applies a temporary 3% adjustment to the national standardized payment rate and gives CMS broader authority to revoke or deny Medicare enrollment for providers that fail to comply with program requirements.
CMS said the estimated 2.4% payment increase combines a 2.1% payment update with an estimated 0.3% increase associated with the updated fixed dollar loss amount used in calculating outlier payments. The agency said the projected $415 million is a year-over-year estimate for aggregate home health payments. The finalized increase is in line with the increase CMS proposed in July, according to Home Health Care News.
The rule also includes a temporary negative 3% adjustment to the 2027 national standardized payment rate. That adjustment is separate from the overall aggregate payment estimate. CMS continues to use a 30-day unit of payment and the Patient-Driven Groupings Model, or PDGM, for case-mix adjustments. The agency finalized recalibrated PDGM case-mix weights and updated outlier-payment amounts, low-utilization payment adjustment thresholds, functional impairment levels and comorbidity adjustment subgroups.
CMS did not finalize an additional permanent adjustment to the 30-day base payment rate. The agency said it will continue analyzing 2026 claims to determine whether further permanent changes are needed to account for PDGM. The rule also responds to comments on access to community-based palliative care through the home health benefit, with CMS saying it will provide examples of such services in future sub-regulatory guidance.
Payment Changes and Provider Oversight
The rule sets the payment framework for Medicare-covered home health services in 2027, affecting agencies that provide care in patients’ homes and the beneficiaries who rely on those services. CMS’s $415 million estimate describes the projected aggregate change from the prior calendar year; it does not mean every agency will receive the same increase. Final payments can vary with factors including case mix, outlier payments and the policy adjustments in the rule.
The enforcement provisions could also affect agencies’ ability to participate in Medicare. CMS estimates the changes will save taxpayers about $82 million annually by improving its ability to recover payments from noncompliant providers and prevent high-risk providers from entering or remaining in the program. Those are agency estimates, not reported savings already achieved. The provisions make compliance and ownership changes a more direct concern for home health operators, while CMS says the broader goal is to protect beneficiaries and public funds.
How the Rule Builds on Current Payment Policy
The final rule continues CMS’s use of the 30-day payment unit and PDGM, which groups home health periods for payment based on patient and service characteristics. CMS had proposed a 2.4% aggregate increase in July, and the final estimate remains at that level. However, the agency did not settle whether a further permanent base-rate adjustment will be needed, saying its review of 2026 claims is ongoing.
CMS also sought input on developing a home health-specific wage index using an alternate data source, such as Bureau of Labor Statistics information. The final rule does not establish a new wage-index method or implementation schedule. Separately, it amends the definition of durable medical equipment to include certain external infusion pumps and associated home infusion drugs.
“The Trump Administration is taking action to hold noncompliant providers accountable and ensure Medicare works with legitimate, qualified providers.”
— CMS Administrator Dr. Mehmet Oz, in a statement
Open Questions on Rates and Wage Index
Several details remain unsettled. CMS has not said whether its review of 2026 claims will lead to an additional permanent adjustment to the 30-day base payment rate, nor has it announced a timetable for that decision. The final rule also provides no finalized methodology or implementation plan for a home health-specific wage index.
The source report describes the 2.4% figure as an aggregate estimate; it does not provide agency-level payment projections or explain how individual providers’ payments will change. CMS’s projected $82 million in annual savings is also an estimate, and the cited material does not report realized savings or specify how they will be measured after implementation.
CMS Review and Implementation Ahead
The final rule establishes the policies for calendar year 2027, while CMS continues its analysis of 2026 claims for possible additional permanent PDGM-related adjustments. The agency’s future sub-regulatory guidance is expected to give examples of community-based palliative care services under the home health benefit. CMS has not announced when that guidance will be issued.
Providers will also need to account for the finalized enrollment rules, including retroactive revocations and requirements tied to certain majority-ownership changes. The cited report does not specify effective dates for each provision or describe individual agencies’ implementation steps. Further details may come through CMS guidance and subsequent agency announcements.
Key Questions
How much will Medicare home health payments increase in 2027?
CMS estimates aggregate payments will rise 2.4% compared with 2026, an estimated $415 million increase. That is an overall estimate, not a guaranteed increase for every agency.
Does the rule also reduce the payment rate?
The rule includes a temporary negative 3% adjustment to the 2027 national standardized payment rate. CMS’s separate estimate for aggregate payments incorporates the rule’s payment components and is stated as a 2.4% increase year over year.
What changes does CMS make to provider enrollment?
CMS can make Medicare enrollment revocations retroactive to when noncompliance began and adds or expands grounds for denying or revoking enrollment. Certain majority-ownership changes involving home health agencies, hospices and durable medical equipment suppliers can require reenrollment as new providers and a survey or accreditation.
Has CMS finalized a new home health wage index?
No. The final rule responds to comments about a home health-specific wage index but does not set a new methodology or implementation plan.
Will CMS make another permanent payment adjustment?
That remains undecided. CMS said it will continue analyzing 2026 claims to determine whether additional permanent adjustments related to PDGM are necessary.
Source: homehealthcarenews.com