Hormone Therapy And Cancer Risk; Oncology Pay Cut; Mammograms Post-Double Mastectomy
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

A November 6 cancer news roundup reports warnings about a small increase in breast cancer risk associated with certain menopause hormone therapies, while the FDA removed boxed warnings from three estrogen patch labels. It also highlights ASCO’s estimate of a roughly 2% Medicare physician pay cut for oncology care in 2027 and a UCLA Health report that routine imaging may not benefit some women after double mastectomy for ductal carcinoma in situ.

A November 6 cancer news roundup brings together three developments affecting cancer patients and care: doctors’ warnings about a small breast cancer risk increase linked to certain menopause hormone therapies, a planned roughly 2% Medicare pay cut for oncologists in 2027, and a report that routine mammograms or other imaging may not benefit some women after double mastectomy for ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS). The items concern different decisions, and the roundup does not present them as one study or policy change.

The roundup says doctors warn that the breast cancer risk associated with certain hormone therapies for menopause symptoms should not be overlooked, describing the increase as small. It does not identify the specific therapies, quantify the risk, or provide details about which patients may face a different level of risk. Separately, it reports that the FDA removed boxed warnings about breast cancer, cardiovascular disease and dementia from the labels of three estrogen patches. The supplied report does not name the patches or explain the agency’s evidence or reasoning.

The American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) said oncologists treating Medicare patients will face a roughly 2% pay cut under the 2027 Physician Fee Schedule from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. ASCO said it is monitoring the potential effect on cancer care delivery. The roundup does not specify how the change would affect individual practices, patients or particular services.

A separate item from UCLA Health says women who had a double mastectomy to treat DCIS may not benefit from routine mammograms or other breast imaging. The source summary does not give study methods, patient numbers or specific follow-up recommendations. It also reports multiple other cancer-related developments, but provides no additional detail on them; those items do not change the distinct scope of these three highlighted issues.

At a glance
reportWhen: Published November 6, 2026
The developmentA November 6, 2026, cancer news roundup highlights developments in menopause hormone therapy labeling, Medicare oncology reimbursement and breast imaging after double mastectomy.

Implications for Patients and Cancer Care

Together, the items touch treatment choices, follow-up imaging and access to care. The hormone therapy report is a reminder that benefit and risk discussions may matter for people considering symptom treatment, while removal of boxed warnings changes what appears on three product labels. Those developments cannot, on the information provided, establish that a treatment is appropriate or risk-free for any individual.

The projected Medicare payment reduction could affect the financial pressures facing practices that treat older patients with cancer. ASCO has raised a possible care-delivery impact, but the roundup does not document service reductions or patient harm. The DCIS imaging item may also matter to people weighing follow-up after surgery: routine imaging decisions depend on the circumstances, and the brief report is not enough to determine what any one patient should do.

Three Developments in Cancer Care

The items appear in a cancer news roundup published by Medpage Today on November 6, 2026, rather than in a single report with a shared study or policy question. The source links to separate coverage: the New York Times for hormone therapy concerns, The Guardian for the FDA label change and UCLA Health for the post-mastectomy imaging item. ASCO is the named source for the estimate about Medicare physician reimbursement.

The source summary places these developments alongside other cancer news, including a planned FDA review of a liver cancer drug application and reports about cancer testing and treatment. It offers no additional evidence, timelines or outcome data for the three issues covered here. Keeping each item separate is important: a drug-label action, a payment schedule and an imaging report have different authorities, evidence and consequences.

“Doctors are warning not to overlook the small increase in breast cancer risk associated with certain hormonal therapies for treating menopause symptoms.”

— Doctors, as summarized by Medpage Today and linked to New York Times coverage

Evidence and Patient Effects Remain Unclear

The source summary does not provide a numerical estimate for the hormone-therapy risk, identify the therapies involved, or explain which patients were studied. It also gives no details about the FDA’s evidence or rationale for removing boxed warnings from three patch labels, including the products’ names.

For the Medicare fee schedule, the precise payment changes, implementation details and effects on oncology practices are not included. ASCO’s concern is a potential impact, not evidence that cancer services have already been reduced. For imaging after double mastectomy, the summary does not describe the underlying research, patient groups or circumstances in which imaging might still be considered. The available information cannot resolve an individual patient’s treatment or follow-up plan.

Watch for Guidance and Policy Details

Further detail may come from the FDA’s updated product labeling, fuller reporting on the hormone-therapy evidence and the research behind the UCLA Health imaging report. Patients and clinicians will need the specific products, populations and recommendations before applying these developments to personal care decisions.

For oncology reimbursement, the next relevant information is the final 2027 Physician Fee Schedule and any additional ASCO analysis of its effects. The roundup does not state when further analysis will be released or forecast specific changes to clinic operations. Until more detail is available, the reported pay cut remains a projected policy impact, while the effects on patients and services are still uncertain.

Key Questions

What does the roundup say about menopause hormone therapy and breast cancer?

It reports that doctors warn of a small increase in breast cancer risk associated with certain hormone therapies for menopause symptoms. It does not identify the therapies or give a numerical risk estimate.

Did the FDA remove boxed warnings from all hormone therapies?

No. The source says the FDA removed boxed warnings about breast cancer, cardiovascular disease and dementia from the labels of three estrogen patches. It does not name them or describe changes to other products.

What is the reported Medicare pay change for oncologists?

ASCO said oncologists treating Medicare patients will face a roughly 2% pay cut under the 2027 Physician Fee Schedule. The roundup does not detail the effect on specific practices or services.

Are mammograms unnecessary after every double mastectomy for DCIS?

The source says women who had a double mastectomy to treat DCIS may not benefit from routine mammograms or other imaging. It does not establish a rule for every patient or provide individualized follow-up guidance.

Source: medpagetoday.com

This article is for informational purposes only and is not medical advice. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional about your specific situation.
You May Also Like

Trashing The Health Dashboards

A MedPage Today commentary argues that health dashboards should prompt timely follow-up, not add to clinicians’ reporting burden.

Department Of Health Care Services Surges In Global Coverage

DHCS sees a significant increase in international engagement, with mentions surging across global media, highlighting its expanding influence.

‘Explosive Diarrhea Parasite’ Is on the Rise in the US. These States Have the Most Cases, CDC Says

Cyclospora, an intestinal parasite causing severe diarrhea, is increasing in several US states, prompting health alerts from the CDC.

Pentagon restores mandatory flu shots for all recruits amid boot camp outbreak

The Pentagon has resumed mandatory flu vaccinations for all new recruits following an outbreak at boot camps, aiming to curb the spread of illness.